Accessability Links
By continuing to use this website we will assume you are happy to receive cookies as outlined in our cookie policy
Accept Policy
Job Search
Solutions Through

Engineering gets an honourable start to 2014

Posted by: Jonathan Lee 22 Jan 14 - 9:48AM  | Chairman's Blog

2014 has started as a good year already with several British engineers featuring on the Queen's New Year Honours list. The Head of the Technology Strategy Board, Iain Gray, was one of the principal winners with a CBE for his part in the stimulation of national innovation and engineering growth. Professor Helen Valerie Atkinson, Head of the Engineering Department at the University of Leicester also received a CBE, for services to engineering and education, after they became the lead institute in a new centre for doctoral training in metal processing as part of the largest ever national investment in postgraduate training in engineering and physical sciences. There were also awards for people related to engineering, with a leading business support figure, Rachel Eade from the Manufacturing Advisory Service (MAS), getting an MBE for her services to the car industry after helping more than 2,000 suppliers since 1995.

“It’s great to see that engineers and scientists are being recognised for helping to build world leading industry and research in the UK,” said Jonathan Lee. “With a continued national focus on developing the importance of industry within our economy, the importance of people who make outstanding contributions at a personal level cannot be underestimated.”

In total there were nine CBEs, three DBEs, one OBE and four MBEs given to engineers and scientists in this year's list, which also for the first time includes more women than men. In addition to Mr Gray and Ms Atkinson, the following people were recognised for various services to science, industry and the economy:


  • Professor Doreen Cantrell, FRS, FRSE – Vice Principal and Head of College of Life Sciences, University of Dundee for services to life sciences.
  • Professor Carole Anne Goble – Professor of Computer Science, University of Manchester for services to science.
  • David Warren Arthur East - formerly Chief Executive at microprocessor firm ARM Holdings for services to the technology industry.
  • Paul David Skinner - Chairman, Infrastructure UK for services to business and infrastructure.
  • Nicholas Paul Winser - Executive Director, UK National Grid for services to the energy industry.
  • Professor Lesley Jane Yellowlees, MBE, FRSE - President, Royal Society of Chemistry for services to chemistry.
  • Christopher John Mairs - Chief Scientist, Metaswitch Networks for services to engineering.


  • Professor Frances Clare Kirwan, FRS - Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford for services to mathematics.
  • Professor Julia Mary Slingo, OBE - Chief Scientist, Meteorological Office for services to weather and climate science.
  • Professor Celia Mary Hoyles, OBE - formerly Director, National Centre for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics for services to education.


  • Professor Paul Stephen Cannon, FREng - formerly Director, Poynting Institute, QinetiQ and University of Birmingham for services to engineering.


  • Estelle Ann Rowe - National Director, Headstart Programme, Engineering Development Trust, Birmingham for services to education.
  • Roy Williams - Engineer and Equipment Examiner, Ministry of Defence for services to defence engineering.
  • George Morgan - Chairman, Pektron Group for services to electronic engineering.
  • Ronald Ayres for services to engineering.
Visit Tom's Google Plus profile here Tom Webb-Skinner


Add new comment
Type the characters you see in the picture